The Act defines "designated travel retailers" as business entities that arrange or offer travel services and are designated by a duly licensed limited lines insurance producer to offer and disseminate travel insurance to residents of Connecticut on such producer's behalf.
Producer Travel (Limited Lines) – Authority to solicit, negotiate or sell Travel Insurance ONLY.
Public Act No. 17-187 – see Laws and Regulations
Changes to the Licensing Requirements Applicable to Individuals and Business Entities Marketing Travel Insurance Products: Bulletin L-22
Late Renewal: $1,300.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $100.00 application fee.
Business Entities: Two (2) years. Expires January 31st every EVEN year.
Individual: Two (2) years. Expires Birth Date every OTHER year
How to Apply:
Apply by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”
How to Renew:
How to Amend Lines of Authority:
How to Reinstate a License:
- To reinstate the license for up to one (1) year after expiration date, you will be required to pay a late fee of $650.00, for a total of $1,300.00. Apply by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Renew an Existing License.”
- After one (1) year, you will be required to complete the reinstatement application fee with $750.00 fee. Apply by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”
How to change License information: (ie.: demographics)
Print a copy of the license:
Initial Education Requirements:
Waivers due to Designations:
Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:
Connecticut does not require CE for any Limited Lines Travel Only.
Cancel the license: