State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

SURPLUS LINES BROKER (Individual & Business Entity)

Definition:

SURPLUS LINES INSURANCE BROKER – Any person placing insurance coverage with a non-admitted carrier, after exhausting the admitted market.

Applicable Statutes:

CGS §38a-740 to 794 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees:

Initial: $675.00
Reinstatement: $675.00
Renewal: $625.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration:

Two (2) years. Expires September 30th every EVEN year.

How to Apply:

Residents:

Non-Residents:

How to Renew:

How to Amend Lines of Authority:

Not applicable

How to Reinstate a License:

After September 30th every EVEN year, apply by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to change License information: (ie.: demographics)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license:

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements:

Waivers due to Designations:

None

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:

Connecticut does not require CE for any Surplus Lines Broker.

Cancel the license:

License Cancel/Termination

Important Consumer Information:

FAQs for Surplus Lines Brokers Surplus Lines Statement (Form SL-8) Licensees will file their taxes through OPTins




Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845