State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

SURETY BAIL BONDS (Individual & Business Entity)

Definition:

SURETY BAIL BOND AGENT – Any person who executes an undertaking of bail in this state on behalf of a Surety company. License AND appointment are required prior to acting in this capacity.

Applicable Statutes:

CGS §38a-660 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees:

Initial: $250.00
Reinstatement: $250.00
Renewal: $100.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable application fee.

Duration:

Two (2) years. Expires January 31st every EVEN year.

How to Apply:

How to Renew:

How to Amend Lines of Authority:

Not applicable

How to Reinstate a License:

How to change License information: (ie.: demographics)

Bail Bonds Regulation

Print a copy of the license:

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements:

Bail Bonds Regulation

Waivers due to Designations:

Nor applicable

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:

Not applicable

Cancel the license:

Contact: cid.fraud@ct.gov

Important Consumer Information:

Pursuant to CGS §38a-660, anyone who has even been convicted of a disqualifying offense shall be ineligible for a Surety Bail Bond Agent License.

Disqualifying offense means A) a felony; B) a misdemeanor if an element of the offense involves dishonesty or misappropriation of money or property; or C) a misdemeanor under section §21a-279, §53a-58, §53a-61, §53a-61a, §53a-62, §53a-63, §53a-96, §53a-173, §53a-175, §53a-176, §53a-178 or §53a-181d.




Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845