State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

PUBLIC ADJUSTER (Individual & Business Entity)

Definition:

PUBLIC ADJUSTER – Any person who or which practices, as a business, the adjusting of loss or damage by fire, or other hazard, under any policies, on behalf of the insured, or who advertises or solicits business or holds themselves out to the public as engaging in such adjusting as a business. Lawyers settling claims of clients shall not be deemed to be insurance adjusters.

Applicable Statutes:

CGS §38a-723 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees:

Initial: $300.00
Reinstatement: $300.00
Renewal: $250.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration:

Two (2) years. Expires April 30th every EVEN year.

How to Apply:

Residents:

Non-Residents:

How to Renew:

How to Amend Lines of Authority:

Not applicable

How to Reinstate a License:

After April 30th every EVEN year, reinstate the license by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to change License information: (ie.: demographics)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license:

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements:

See “How to Apply” section above.

Waivers due to Designations:

None

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:

Connecticut does not require CE for any Public Adjuster.

Cancel the license:

License Cancel/Termination




Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845