State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

CERTIFIED INSURANCE CONSULTANT (Property & Casualty)

Definition:

CERTIFIED INSURANCE CONSULTANT (PROPERTY & CASUALTY) – License to offer advice, counsel, opinion or service (for a fee) regarding P&C insurance. License required to use certain titles.

Applicable Statutes:

CGS §38a-731, 786 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees:

Initial: $300.00
Amendment: $300.00
Reinstatement: $300.00
Renewal: $250.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration:

Two (2) years. Renews September 30th every ODD year.

How to Apply:

Residents:

Non-Residents:

How to Renew:

How to Amend Lines of Authority:

Apply by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Add Line of Authority.”

How to Reinstate a License:

After June 30th every ODD year, reinstate the license by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to change License information: (ie.: email and address)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license:

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements:

No pre-licensing required.

Waivers due to Designations:

The examination requirement is waived for the following Certified Insurance Consultant license applicants:None Submit the application by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.” Email the current Letter of Designation (within 90 days of issuance) to the Department, be sure to include your name and NIPR transaction number. Send the email to cid.licensing@ct.gov, Attn: CIC L/AHS Examination Exemptions.

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:

Connecticut does not require CE for any CIC.

Cancel the license:

License Cancel/Termination




Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845