State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

PRODUCER (Individual)

Definition:

PRODUCER LICENSE – Authority to solicit, negotiate or sell Life, Accident & Health or Sickness, Property & Casualy, Personal Lines insurance, Variable Life/Variable Annuity, Credit and/or Limited Lines Travel coverage.

Applicable Statutes:

CGS §38a-702 to 782 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees:

Initial: $140.00
Amendment: $130.00
Reinstatement: $130.00
Renewal: $160.00
Late Renewal: $160.00 for a total of $320.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration:

After initial license period, EVERY TWO years on the last day of the birth month.

How to Apply:

Residents:

Non-Residents:

How to Renew:

How to Amend Lines of Authority:

How to Reinstate a License:

How to change License information: (ie.: demographics)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license:

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements:

Download the License Handbook and schedule the exam.

Waivers due to Designations:

Pre-Licensing Exemptions – Insurance Producer Pre-Licensing Coursework:

To request a pre-licensing waiver, email the Department a currently dated letter (within 90 days) from the society. In the email, include your name, address, SSN, DOB and what lines of authority you are requesting. Send the email to: cid.licensing@ct.gov, Attn: Producer Pre-Licensing Waiver.

Examination Exemptions – Insurance Producer Examination:

The examination requirement is waived for the following Insurance Producer license applicants:

Submit the application by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.” Email the Department a currently dated letter (within 90 days) from the society. Be sure to include your name, and NIPR transaction number. Send the email to: cid.licensing@ct.gov, Attn: Producer Examination Exemption.

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:

CE links:

Cancel the license:

License Cancel/Termination




Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845