State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

PRODUCER (Business Entity)

Definition:

PRODUCER LICENSE – Authority to solicit, negotiate or sell Life, Accident & Health or Sickness, Property & Casualy, Personal Lines insurance, Variable Life/Variable Annuity, Credit and/or Limited Lines Travel coverage.

Applicable Statutes:

CGS §38a-702 to 782 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees:

Initial: $130.00
Amendment: $130.00
Reinstatement: $130.00
Renewal: $160.00
Late Renewal: $160.00 for a total of $320.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration:

Two (2) years. Renews January 31st every EVEN year.

How to Apply:

Apply by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to Renew:

How to Amend Lines of Authority:

How to Reinstate a License:

How to change License information: (ie.: demographics)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license:

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements:

Not applicable

Waivers due to Designations:

Not applicable

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:

Not applicable

Cancel the license:

License Cancel/Termination

Important Information:

In order for a business entity to obtain/maintain a Producer license in Connecticut, there needs to be at least one DRLP actively licensed.
The following functions are available by emailing the Department at cid.licensing@ct.gov.
Company Appointments – View Licensing General Information

PA-187 Travel – Model Travel: Changes to the Licensing Requirements Applicable to Individuals and Business Entities Marketing Travel Insurance Bulletin L-22.

Effective October 1, 2019 – Officer and Director Changes. (C.G.S. 38a-771): Please be advised that business entities no longer need to report changes of members/officers/directors.




Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845