State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

MOTOR VEHICLE PHYSICAL DAMAGE (MVPD) APPRAISER

Definition:

MOTOR VEHICLE PHYSICAL DAMAGE (MVPD) APPRAISER – Motor Vehicle Physical Damage Appraiser means any person who or which practices as a business the appraising of damages to motor vehicles insured under automobile physical damage policies or on behalf of third party claimants.

Applicable Statutes:

CGS §38a-790 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees:

Initial: $130.00
Amendment: $130.00
Reinstatement: $130.00
Renewal: $80.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration:

Two (2) years. Renews June 30th every ODD year.

How to Apply:

Residents:

Non-Residents:

Non-Residents claiming DHS:

How to Renew:

How to Amend Lines of Authority:

Not Applicable

How to Reinstate a License:

After June 30th every ODD year, reinstate the license by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to change License information: (ie.: email and address)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license:

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements:

No pre-licensing required. (Study Material)

Waivers due to Designations:

None

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:

Connecticut does not require CE for Adjusters.

Cancel the license:

License Cancel/Termination




Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845