State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department

FRATERNAL AGENT (Individuals ONLY)

Definition:

FRATERNAL INSURANCE – Insurance provided by social organizations for their members.

FRATERNAL INSURANCE AGENT – License/appointment to solicit, negotiate or sell Life/AH insurance or annuities on behalf of a Fraternal Society. An appointment by the Fraternal Company is necessary.

FRATERNAL LIFE INSURANCE – Life insurance provided by fraternal orders or societies to their members.

FRATERNAL SOCIETY – A social organization that provides insurance for its members.

Applicable Statutes:

CGS §38a-800 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees:

Initial: $130.00
Amendment: $130.00
Reinstatement: $130.00
Renewal: $80.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration:

Two (2) years. Renews December 31st of every ODD year.

How to Apply:

Residents & Non-Residents:

How to Renew:

How to Amend Lines of Authority:

The Fraternal Society must submit the application by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Add Line of Authority.”

How to Reinstate a License:

After December 31st every ODD year, the Fraternal Society must submit the application by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to change License information: (ie.: email and address)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license:

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements:

None

Waivers due to Designations:

None

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:

Connecticut does not require CE for any Fraternal Agent.

Cancel the license:

Cancellation request forms must be completed by the Fraternal Society. Fraternal Agent License/Appointment Cancellation Notice – Email the completed form to: cid.licensing@ct.gov, Attn: Fraternal Agent cancellation request.

Important Information:

Connecticut does not license fraternal business entities.




Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845