State of Connecticut
Connecticut Insurance Department


CERTIFIED INSURANCE CONSULTANT (PROPERTY & CASUALTY) - License to offer advice, counsel, opinion or service (for a fee) re. P&C insurance. License required to use certain titles.
Applicable Statutes:
CGS §38a-731, 786 - see Laws and Regulations
Initial: $300.00
Renewal: $250.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee
Two (2) years - Renews September 30th of every ODD year.
How to Apply:
ONLINE Application
How to Renew:
Renewal notices are emailed about 60 days before expiration date.
How to Amend Lines of Authority:
Not applicable
How to change License information: (ie: demographics)
Update your License Information
Print a copy of the license:
Search and print a license
Initial Education Requirements:
Exam number 18-05. No prelicensing exam needed.
Waivers due to Designations:
The Examination is waived for CLU and CPCU, CIC and AAI Designees with evidence of a current letter (within 90 days) from the society, include application number on the letter. E-mail the letter to: or FAX the letter to (860) 297-3978.
Renewal CE Requirements:
Not applicable
Cancel the license:
License Cancel/Termination

Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Phone: 860-297-3845