State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department


SURPLUS LINES BROKER (Individual & Business Entity)


Definition:
SURPLUS LINES INSURANCE BROKER - Any person placing insurance coverage with a nonadmitted carrier, after exhausting the admitted market.
Applicable Statutes:
CGS §38a-740 to 794 - see Laws and Regulations
Fees:
Initial: $675.00
Renewal: $625.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee
Duration:
Two (2) years. Expires September 30th every EVEN year.
How to Apply:
National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) - Residents must have a Producer's license with Property and Casualty authority.
How to Renew:
National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) - Renewal notices are emailed about 60 days before expiration date.
How to Amend Lines of Authority:
Not applicable
How to change License information: (ie: demographics)
Update your License Information
Print a copy of the license:
Search and print a license
Initial Education Requirements:
Not applicable
Waivers due to Designations:
Not applicable
Renewal CE Requirements:
Not applicable
Cancel the license:
License Cancel/Termination
Important Consumer Information:
FAQs for Surplus Lines Brokers
Tax Notice




Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845