State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department


REINSURANCE INTERMEDIARY (Broker & Manager)


Definition:
REINSURANCE INTERMEDIARY - Any Individual, legal entity or business trade name, other than an officer or employee of the ceding insurer, who or which solicits, negotiates or places reinsurance cessions or retrocessions on behalf of a ceding insurer, without the authority to bind reinsurance on behalf of such insurer. (REF: CGS §38a-750 to 759)
REINSURANCE INTERMEDIARY MANAGER - Any person, firm, association or corporation who has authority to bind or manage all parts of the assumed reinsurance business of a reinsurer, including the management of a separate division, department or underwriting office, and acts as an agent for such reinsurer whether known as a reinsurance intermediary-manager, manger or other similar term. Notwithstanding any provisionto the contrary, the following persons shall not be considered a reinsurance intermediary-manager, with respect to such reinsurer, for the purposes of sections §38a-760 to 760i, inclusive:
  • an employee of the reinsurer,
  • a US manager of the US branch of an alien reinsurer,
  • an underwriting manager which, pursuant to contract, manages all or part of the reinsurance operations of the reinsurance operations of the reinsurer, is under common control with the reinsurer, subject to sections §38a-129 to 140 inclusive, and whose compensation is not based on the volume of premiums written,
  • the manager of a group, association, pool or organization of insurers which engages in joint underwriting or joint reinsurance and who are subject to examination by the insurance commissioner of the state in which the manager's principal business office is located.
Applicable Statutes:
CGS §38a-750 to 759 - see Laws and Regulations
Fees:
Initial: $675.00
Renewal: $625.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee
Duration:
Two (2) years. Expires December 31st every EVEN year.
How to Apply:
License Application - ONLINE
How to Renew:
Renewal Information - Renewal notices are emailed about 60 days before expiration date.
How to Amend Lines of Authority:
Not applicable
How to change License information: (ie: demographics)
Update your License Information
Print a copy of the license:
Search and print a license
Initial Education Requirements:
Not applicable
Waivers due to Designations:
Not applicable
Renewal CE Requirements:
Not applicable
Cancel the license:
License Cancel/Termination
Important Consumer Information:
Power of Attorney Form


Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845