State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department


RENTAL CAR PERMIT


Definition:
RENTAL CAR COMPANY PERMITTEE - Any person transacting business in this state under the terms of a rental agreement to offer coverage for sale in connection with the rental of a vehicle, whether at a rental office or by preselection of coverage in a master rental agreement.
Applicable Statutes:
CGS §38a-799 - see Laws and Regulations
Fees:
Initial: $80.00
Reinstatement: $80.00
Renewal: $80.00
No Pro-Rating.
Duration:
Two (2) years. Expires January 31st every EVEN year.
How to Apply:
  • Submit the completed Rental Car Permit paper application with payment.
  • Make check or money order for $80.00 payable to: “Treasurer, State of Connecticut.”
    The Department does not accept online applications for this license type.
How to Renew:
Renewal applications are EMAILED about 90 days before expiration date.
The Department does not accept online renewals for this license type.
How to Amend Lines of Authority:
Not applicable
How to Reinstate a License:
  • After January 31st every EVEN year, reinstate the license, by submitting the completed Rental Car Permit paper application with payment.
  • Make check or money order for $80.00 payable to: “Treasurer, State of Connecticut.”
    The Department does not accept online applications for this license type.
How to change License information: (ie: email and address)
Update your License Information
Print a copy of the license:
Search and print a license
Initial Education Requirements:
Not applicable
Waivers due to Designations:
None
Renewal CE Requirements:
Not applicable
Cancel the license:
License Cancel/Termination