State of Connecticut
 
Connecticut Insurance Department


PRODUCER (Individual)


Definition:
PRODUCER LICENSE - Authority to solicit, negotiate or sell Life/AH, P&C, Personal Lines insurance, Variable Life/Variable Annuity, Credit and/or Travel coverage.
Applicable Statutes:
CGS §38a-702 to 782 - see Laws and Regulations
Fees:
Initial: $140.00
Renewal: $160.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee
Duration:
Two (2) years. Renews on licensee's date of birth every OTHER year.
How to Apply:
National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)
How to Renew:
National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) - Renewal notices are emailed about 60 days before expiration date.
How to Amend Lines of Authority:
National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)
How to change License information: (ie: demographics)
Update your License Information
Print a copy of the license:
Search and print a license
Initial Education Requirements:
Connecticut Insurance Exams Information
Waivers due to Designations:
Request waiver by email at: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Renewal CE Requirements:
Connecticut Insurance Exams Information
Cancel the license:
License Cancel/Termination


Connecticut Insurance Department
About Licensing Unit
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Phone: 860-297-3845