MOTOR VEHICLE PHYSICAL DAMAGE (MVPD) APPRAISER - Motor Vehicle Physical Damage Appraiser means any person who or which practices as a business the appraising of damages to motor vehicles insured under automobile physical damage policies or on behalf of third party claimants.
CGS §38a-790 - see Laws and Regulations
Initial: $130.00Reinstatement: $130.00Renewal: $80.00No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee
Two (2) years - Renews June 30th of every ODD year.
Residents:No pre-licensing course is required before taking the Appraiser exam. (Study Material)To download the License Handbook and schedule the exam.MVPD Appraiser license type requires a two (2) part examination: Written and Practical. Residents are required to pass both the written and practical exams. Once you have passed the written exam, you must contact South End Auto Body, Inc. to schedule the practical exam.South End Auto Body, Inc.676 Cromwell AvenueRocky Hill, CT 06067Phone: (860) 529-7426After passing both exams, apply at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Select “Apply for License.”(Note: you do not need to submit the passed examination, the Department will verify this information with our vendor.)Non Residents:Connecticut will grant reciprocity with an equivalent license in any other state (except California, Hawaii or New York).Apply at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Select “Apply for License.”Non Residents claiming DHS:Connecticut issues Non-Resident DHS status to an individual who resides in a state with no Appraiser licensing.Same requirements as in the Residents section aboveAfter passing both exams, apply at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Select “Apply for License.”
After June 30th each ODD year, reinstate the license by going to National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Select “Apply for License.”
Update your License Information
Search and print a license
No pre-licensing course is required. (Study Material)
Connecticut does not require CE for any Appraiser.